Hospital offers free shots to kids to start new year

San Joaquin Community Hospital will be offering free childhood immunizations against vaccine-preventable diseases at the following sites for the month of January:

Walgreens Pharmacy; Wednesday, Jan. 2; 40 Chester Ave. (parking lot), Bakersfield; 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Walgreens Pharmacy; Thursday, Jan. 3; 3301 Panama Lane, (parking lot), Bakersfield; 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Sports Authority; Monday, Jan. 7; 4821 Ming Ave. (parking lot), Bakersfield; 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

The Park at Riverwalk; Tuesday, Jan. 8; 11298 Stockdale Hwy. (Area 1 parking lot), Bakersfield; 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Kern County Dept. of Human Services; Wednesday, Jan. 9; 100 E. California Ave. (parking lot), Bakersfield; 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Canyon Hills Church at The Summit; Thursday, Jan. 10; 7100 Auburn St. (parking lot), Bakersfield; 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Vallarta Super Market/Dollar Tree; Monday, Jan. 14; 2705 S. H St. (parking lot), Bakersfield; 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Wal-Mart; Tuesday, Jan. 15; 8400 Rosedale Highway (parking lot), Bakersfield; 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

San Joaquin Community Hospital; Wednesday, Jan. 16; 2801 Chester Ave. (parking lot), Bakersfield; 1-6 p.m.

Greenfield Family Resource Center; Tuesday, Jan. 22; 5400 Monitor St. (parking lot), Bakersfield; 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Vallarta Supermarket; Thursday, Jan. 24; 820 Main St. (parking lot), Delano; 9:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.

N O R Sears Park; Monday, Jan. 28; 444 Norris Road (parking lot), Bakersfield; 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Save Mart Supermarkets; Tuesday, Jan. 29; 2325 State Highway (parking lot), Wasco; 9:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Vallarta; Wednesday, Jan. 30; 5951 Niles St. (parking lot), Bakersfield; 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Apple Market; Thursday, Jan. 31; 9710 Main St., Lamont; 9:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.

According to CDC's new guidance, vaccines are free of charge to children under the age of 18 who meet one of the following criteria:
 

  • No health insurance
  • Under-insured
  • Eligible for Medi-Cal and the Child Health and Disability Program
  • American Indian or Native Alaskan


According to CDPH health eligibility guidelines, the Influenza vaccine may be provided free to all children ages 6 months to 18 years of age.